Sons honor their former POW Fathers
Original members of Crew # 2416 are shown in this wartime picture. Most were aboard the 24th Bomb Squadron B-29 Superfortress “Sharon Linn,” when it was shot down on the night of 19 July 1945 while on a minelaying mission to Niigata, Japan. Standing, left to right, are S/Sgt Florio D. Spero (Tail Gunner), M/Sgt George E. McGraw (Engineer) [POW], S/Sgt Norman S. Kruvant (CFC Gunner) [not on last flight], Sgt. Robert A. Grant (Left Gunner), S/Sgt Max A. Adams (Radar), S/Sgt Robert J. Burkle (Right Gunner), S/Sgt Walter W. Wiernik (Radio) [POW]. Kneeling, left to right, are Capt. Gordon P. Jordan (Aircraft Commander) [POW], 1st Lt. Wails Hawkins (Pilot), 1st Lt. Milton Garin (Navigator) [not on last flight], 1st Lt. Clinton L. Wride (Bombardier). Crewmembers on last flight who are not shown here are 2nd Lt. Paul A. Trump (Navigator) [POW] and S/Sgt Walter W. Dickerson (Central Fire Control (CFC) Gunner) [POW]. (Courtesy 6th Bomb Group Association)

Download Image: Full Size (0.08 MB)
Photo by:  |  VIRIN: 150918-Z-CH590-003.jpg